Reader, Writer, Reviewer

First I wanted to share with you the one project I attempted this weekend that came specifically from this book, The Repurposed Library: 33 Craft Projects That Give Old Books New Life.  Basically, all it is is folding a book with a particular kind of binding over and over and over again.  You can see her example in the book, but for my first attemt, I used a smaller section and a smaller book (a nice worn copy of A Tree Grows In Brooklyn which was happy to sacrifice itself for book art sake).  I also added a little embellishment in the center from a pack of scrapbook stickers.  It was a little tedious, but I think it’s pretty, and I have another chunk of book to try a thicker section. (BTW, this book got some terrible reviews because of the font and print.  I’m not particular about that sort of thing, I have young eyes.)  So here are my results:

And last but not least, here is my review:

Published by Stewart, Tabori and Chang, May 2011 ****

Not many of the projects that Occhipinti outlines in this book are particularly original.  I had seen variations of a number of them online.  However, I did appreciate how the book illustrates the parts of a book and how to take one apart to utilize the parts needed for a particular project.  I did have some success with the sunburst and hope to attempt making a birdhouse in the near future. It is useful in determining materials needed and the colored pictures are a bonus.  Using these instructions as a knowledge base, I could definitely use her ideas and put my own spin on them.  For a cover price of $24.95, anyone can find similar instructions by searching wikihow pages or Googling projects for book repurposing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

