Audiobook Week

I do have to give a little shout out to Audiobook Week since some of my fellow blogger friends are actively participating (holla, Kim and Jennifer).  So in honor, I am sharing with you my experiences listening to audiobooks.  I have only listened to 3 in my entire life.  The one that popped my cherry was Freakonomics, which The Boss insisted I listen to.  I will admit I never would have enjoyed it had I actually tried to read it and I surprised myself by how much I really didn’t mind my first audio experience.  I thought co-author Stephen J. Dubner was a good choice to narrate and by the end, I felt like he was a reliable companion. A few years later, while planning my drive to Cleveland for a business trip, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to listen to SuperFreakonomics.  Again, the subject matter would not have kept my interest if I had read it, but it sure did make the long drive through Indiana in a snow storm a lot more entertaining.  The laugh-out-loud moments that I experienced listening to the audio probably would have gotten lost in the statistics of the text.

The only other audiofile I have downloaded was when I first got my iPod, and felt obligated to get Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.  Unfortunately, I can not for the life of me figure out who the narrator is (it was a free version), but he is ever so British, which is delightful.  I listened to the first book at work today and will listen to the second tomorrow.  What are you listening to this week?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Audiobook Week

  1. I thought Superfreakonomics was a great audiobook. I wasn’t expecting it to be as good a it was, I figured the subject would be too dry, but I enjoyed it a lot!

Leave a Reply

