Reader, Writer, Reviewer

Vacation Books

As I mentioned before, I’m anticipating picking out which books to bring along to our Labor Day weekend vacation.  Miraculously, The Hubs decided on City of Thieves by David Benioff and The Amber Room by Steve Berry (a standalone instead of the Cotton Malone series, which he abandoned).  Going away for Labor Day has a feeling that’s unique to other vacations.  ShortMan has been a participant in this extended family/friends escapade his entire life, and I began attending in 2001, when it became obvious that I was the future wife.  My first year, I was still a student, so I was focused on completing my first journalism assignment.  Ever since then, there are certain books that accompanied me on these trips that evoke that particular Labor Day feeling and make me think fondly of our annual trip.  I can only remember back so far, but here are books that make me fondly remember the holiday weekend:

2007: I read Ursula, Under by Ingrid Hill.  While at the flea market, I acquired The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd.

2008: I read The Source by James Michener.  I purchased a copy of Nicholas and Alexandra during my first visit to Castle Arkdale, which began my obsession with the Romanovs and made me a huge fan of Robert K. Massie.

2009: I finished Break by Hannah Moskowitz on the car ride there, then read the underwhelming The Widow’s Season by Laura Brodie.

2010: Another car-ride completion was To the End of the Land by David Grossman, which I threw on the passenger side floor in disgust upon finishing it.  Then I read Ape House by Sarah Gruen.

2011: I read A Thousand Lives by Julia Scheeres and people looked at me funny for reading such a morbid topic (Jonestown).

Another fond vacation memory I have from a few years back is sitting on the shores of Lake Superior in UP Michigan reading Ken Follett and The Child Thief. Uncle Tom’s Cabin reminds me of Vegas (incongruous and WRONG). Do you have any books that remind you of a particular vacation or destination?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

