An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd (and Giveaway)

unmarkedI received a second copy to giveaway, so for your chance to win, leave a comment!  Contest ends Saturday, January 12 at midnight.

Published by William Morrow, June 2012 ****

This is my first encounter with Charles Todd and his Bess Crawford mystery series.  I was intrigued by the idea of a murder mystery set during WWI and the in the midst of the Spanish Influenza outbreak.  The book had a strong start, and though there was a lot going on during the middle, I found it just a bit lacking, but it did have a solid ending.  Perhaps I would have appreciated the substance of the narrative more had I read prior Bess Crawford books and had a better understanding of her father and his regiment and the role of Sergeant-Major Brandon and the dynamic between him and Bess. I did like Bess as a character.  I respected that she was strong-willed, intelligent, and compassionate.  It’s a difficult job nursing on the front-lines and her grit and determination was admirable, not to mention her bravery, especially when she was being pursued by a murderer.   She offers a unique perspective as a witness to the brutalities of war.  I would probably read another Bess Crawford mystery in the future.

I received a complimentary copy of this book via TLC Book Tours.

tlc-tour-host

For a great Spanish Influenza novel, I recommend The Last Town on Earth by Thomas Mullen.

For a mystery set during WWII, check out Flight from Berlin by David John.

5 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, giveaway

5 responses to “An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd (and Giveaway)

  1. I’ve not read anything from Charles Todd before either. I always wonder if I would have enjoyed a book more if I had read the first part of a series first, too. But I’d also say I’m not likely to pick up the first one after the fact either, lol.

  2. carlrscott

    This is one of my favorite periods of world history, the opening years of the 20th century and WWI. I’ve not read any other books in this series either but I’d love to win your extra copy of An Unmarked Grave. Thanks for the giveaway, have a great 2013!!

  3. I’m looking forward to starting this series myself … I think I’ll really like Bess.

    Thanks for being on the tour.

  4. Pingback: TLC Book Review – An Unmarked Grave – Jan. 14 | MP3 Downloads

  5. Pingback: Charles Todd, author of An Unmarked Grave, on tour January 2013 | TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply

