Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts

I’m using Christine’s format to rant about Christmas, so bear with me here.

  • Christmas Eve I woke up with a cough.  I figured it was because of the dry air since it was -3 degrees out.  MINUS THREE people.  So I got up and went to work, only to have the aches set in mid-morning.  By the end of the day it was obvious I had the flu.
  • The last time I was sick was Easter.  Being sick on both Easter and Christmas, I can only assume I did something to piss Jesus off.
  • So Christmas Day I stayed home by myself wallowing in self pity.
  • I got a new crock pot and plenty of other goodies, though no books (because really, do I need more?).
  • I did get a gift card to Barnes and Nobel, which I hope to use to buy the last two books in the Griffin and Sabine trilogy.
  • I got the new Sue Monk Kidd novel, The Invention of Wings from the publisher.  I loved The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair was decent, so I hope this one delivers, despite the Oprah selection.
  • Today and tomorrow, I’m going to curl up on the couch with my copy of Elizabeth of York by Alison Weir and work on getting better.  My fever broke, but I had to postpone plans with my dad until Saturday.
  • I hope this post wasn’t too Grinch-y negative, but this is the reality of my less-than-ideal Christmas.  Here’s to a much better New Years.  And I hope you all had a lovely and healthy holiday…

7 Comments

Filed under More About Julz

7 responses to “Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts

  1. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    I didn’t get any books for Christmas either (I suspect people have stopped buying me books because they assume I’ve read it).

    Will look forward to your thoughts on The Secret Life of Bees – it’s been on my radar for a while.

  2. I’ve been sick (like really and truly ill) since December 7th. It’s not funny anymore (if it ever was funny). By Monday I broke down and went to the doctor’s (again) and I have a double ear infection and bronchitis. Last Christmas I had norovirus, so you and I are on Santa’s naughty list together (I’m assuming that’s where you end up when you’re on Jesus’ bad side – probably communicated by interoffice memo).

    • I remember, when we were introduced last year through the card exchange, that you mentioned illness then, too. Hope you’re feeling better, too Rory! Hopefully we heathens don’t get struck by lightning…

  3. ron

    Hope you feel better by next Tues.
    Have a happy and healthy New Year’s; and wish David the same.
    Much love.

  4. “Despite the Oprah selection”- and that’s why I like you!

    Hopefully you’re feeling better and can live it up on New Years Eve!

    • Thanks Christine, feeling much better today. I guess the plus to being sick and on a soup and tea diet for three days is that I didn’t pig out and couldn’t even drink, so I might be one of the few people that actually lost weight during the holidays…

Leave a Reply

