Printers Row Lit Fest

Yesterday The Bestie and I (and our boys) went downtown for Printers Row Lit Fest.  We got lucky with some beautiful weather and we even saw Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel!  I had saved $121 in spare change and only spent $80.  So, the goods…

I was excited to see that Novel-T was back, and they had a prime location pretty close to the front of the fair.  I got the Alice t-shirt two years ago, and this year I got the Poe T ($25).

I saw this beautiful three volume set of History of Civilization in England from 1891, but unfortunately it was $155, so a bit out of my price range.  But they were so gorgeous and in great condition…

???????????????????????????????My great find was this special edition of Trial of Lizzie Borden.  It includes the background of the Bordens and the crime, and the full transcript of the trial (originally published in 1937).  I thought it would make a great addition to my true crime collection.

???????????????????????????????My favorite booth to peruse is The Typewriter, where they sell individual printing blocks.  I love pouring over all of the letters to spell something out an I added two new sets to my growing collection.  In wood I spelled BOOK, and in metal I found 8:15 (our anniversary).

???????????????????????????????At the Half Priced Books tent I found some gifts for my dad for fathers day and a copy of Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul.  It was a great day of bookish nerdery.

Also, stay tuned for the cutest picture ever of Rach and I in which we show off her birthday presents when we do our next installment of Bestie Banters this week!

1 Comment

Filed under More About Julz

One response to “Printers Row Lit Fest

  1. Sounds like a fantastic way to spend a day, great pick ups!

Leave a Reply

